Chief of Navy Change of Command


Chief of Navy Change of Command (1.49 mins)

Vice Admiral Tim Barrett, AO, CSC, RAN, handed over command of the Royal Australian Navy to Vice Admiral Michael Noonan, AO, RAN, during a parade at Blamey Square, at Russell Offices, in Canberra on 6 July 2018. The parade was supported by the Royal Australian Navy Band and Navy members of Australia's Federation Guard. The position of a professional head of the Australian Navy was formally established on 25 February 1904 when Captain (later Vice Admiral Sir) William Rooke Creswell, RN, was appointed Director of the Commonwealth Naval Forces. Upon the granting of Royal Assent to establish the Royal Australian Navy on 10 July 1911, Rear Admiral Creswell, became the First Naval Member of the Australian Commonwealth Naval Board, a position he held until 9 June 1919. The position was retitled as the Chief of Naval Staff in 1973. The title of the Chief of Navy was established in 1997.

Publish Date 06 Jul 2018
Tags V20180326
Thumbnail: Chief of Navy Change of Command